• What you Need to

    Know about Kidwell

     

    The School Day

    The building is opened at 7:30 a.m. There is no supervision for students arriving before 7:30. Breakfast is served between 7:30 a.m. and 8:00 a.m.

    Students report to the following areas before school:

    Pre-K - Cafeteria
    Kindergarten – Library ( Deen, Hunter, Major, Raby )
    Kindergarten - Music ( McKnight, Reed, Richter) 
    1st and 2nd - Gym

    School begins at 8:00 a.m. Students are tardy after 8:05 a.m. and need to go to the office for a tardy slip. School dismisses at 2:50 for Kindergarten and Pre-K and 3:00 for 1st and 2nd grade. Due to the age of our students, we will not change arrangements for children to get home without a note or call from the parent.

    Please notify the office no later than 2:00 p.m. if there is any change in your child’s dismissal plan.

    Drop Off/Pick Up/Buses

    Our designated drop off areas for all children are the two circle drives in FRONT of the school. A crossing guard will be posted in the large circle drive to assist students who are dropped off at the sidewalk to cross the drive. Teachers will walk students out to the front drives in the afternoon.

    THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO PARKING AND LEAVING VEHICLES ALLOWED IN THE SMALL CIRCLE DRIVE OR THE RIGHT HAND SIDE OF THE LARGE CIRCLE DRIVE. THESE ARE DROP OFF/PICK UP ZONES ONLY.

    Bus arrangements need to be made with the transportation director at 592-5082.

    Students will receive bus rules at the beginning of school. Children must ride their assigned bus. If a student needs to ride another bus for any reason, a note must be sent to school with the bus # and the address. Students who are bus riders will always be sent home on their assigned bus unless they have a note from a parent.

    Parking
     
    The parking lot behind the school is for school personnel only. If parents or visitors need to park and enter the building they should park on the left side of the large circle drive or on Third Street.

    PARKING IS NOT ALLOWED IN THE SMALL CIRCLE DRIVE OR THE RIGHT HAND SIDE OF THE LARGE CIRCLE DRIVE. THESE AREAS ARE DESIGNATED DROP OFF AND PICK UP ZONES.

    Students who ride bicycles must leave them on the bicycle rack south of the large circle drive. Bicycles are not to be ridden anywhere on school grounds. Students will need to get off their bicycle on Third Street and push it up the sidewalk, across the porch and to the bike rack.

    ipcisd.net

    For information about our school district, go to ipcisd.net. You will be able to find district information and campus information for each school campus.
     
    Breakfast & Lunch

    All students eat lunch in the cafeteria. Monitors are in place to assist students. Appropriate mealtime behavior and manners will be expected. Monitors will report any misbehavior.

    Prices: Breakfast – Free
     Lunch - $1.90 Adults - $3.25
     Free and reduced lunch applications will be sent home with all students at the beginning of school.

    Lunch Schedules:

    Jordan AM, Bohannon AM 10:45-11:15
     
    Jordan AM, Bohannon PM  11:45-12:15
     
     
    Hunter, McKnight, Raby 10:50-11:20

    Reed, Richter  11:00-11:30

    Major, Deen  11:10-11:40

    Howard, Campbell  11:20-11:50

    Schubert, Rusk  11:30-12:00

    McIroy, Davis  11:40-12:10
     
     
    Sanders, McShan  12:05-12:35
     
    Greene, Burns  12:10-12:40
     
    Moody,  Wilson 12:15-12:45

    Parents/Visitors/Conferences

    Parents are welcome to visit our school and have lunch with their child. Visitors/Parents will sit at the visitor's table.  Visitors may not sit at classroom tables or invite additional children to the visitor's table.  We ask that you sign in and receive a visitor’s tag to be worn while on campus. Visitors are not allowed to visit classrooms without making prior arrangements with the teacher. Parents are not allowed on the playground but may sit inside with their child or at the picnic tables until the lunch period is over. If you need to pick your child up early, stop by the office and the student will be called to the office. Conferences can be scheduled by calling the office at 592-4322.

    Please notify the school of any address changes, phone number changes or emergency contact changes as soon as they occur.

    Parties/Dress Code

    Dress Code

    The district’s dress code is established to teach grooming and hygiene, instill discipline, prevent disruption, avoid safety hazards and teach respect for authority.

    A full copy of the dress code is in the student handbook.

    Tennis shoes are highly recommended because of recess and P.E.   Flip flops are discouraged.

    Children should come to school prepared for changing weather. Assume your child is going outside and dress him/her accordingly. Recess begins as early as 10:00 a.m.

     

    Parties

    There will be three parties each school year. Party money will be collected by PTA. Parties will be held at Christmas, Valentine’s and End of Year.  No additional parties will be held. Due to foods of minimal nutritional value laws in Texas, no food may be sent at any time to the classrooms except on designated party days. You may send cupcakes or cookies but no drinks as birthday treats.  Treats may be brought to the office and they will be sent to the classroom.   If birthday invitations are sent to school, all students in the class must be invited. (Boys must invite all boys & girls must invite all girls.)

    Staff Members

    Principal: Debbie Brandt dbrandt@ipcisd.net

    Counselor: Vicki Adams vadams@ipcisd.net

    Secretary: Linda Taylor lctaylor@ipcisd.net

     

    Kindergarten: Teachers

     Misty Deen  mdeen@ipcisd.net

     Tricia Reed   treed@ipcisd.net

     Phyllis Hunter phunter@ipcisd.net

    Stevi Richter  srichter@ipcisd.net

    Kasey Major  kmajor@ipcisd.net
     
     Pat Raby praby@ipcisd.net

     Marlaina McKnight mmcknight@ipcidsd.net

    Aide : Holly Sanders hsanders@ipcisd.net

    First Grade: Teachers

     Carmen Davis cdavis@ipcisd.net

     Samatha Campbell scampbell@ipcisd.net

    Christie McIlroy cmcilroy@ipcisd.net

     Heather Rusk hrusk@ipcisd.net

     Molly Schubert mschubertt@ipcisd.net

     Logan Howard lhoward@ipcisd.net

    Aide:   Debbie Honeycutt dhoneycutt@ipcisd.net

    Second Grade:  Teachers

     Neysia Wilson nwilson@ipcisd.net 

    Mickie Moody mmoody@ipcisd.net

     Candace Greene cgreene@ipcisd.net

     Kristina Burns kburns@ipcisd.net
     
     Lindsey McShan lmcshan@ipcisd.net
     
    Miranda Sanders msanders@ipcisd.net
     
    Aide : Dana Davis ddavis@ipcisd.net
     
    Special Education   Teachers

     Tracy Young  tyoung@ipcisd.net

     Annetti Grinnell agrinnell@ipcisd.net
     
    Aide:   Hope Allen hallen@ipcisd.net
     
    Aide:   Rachael Kimbro rkimbro@ipcisd.net
     
     

    Pre-Kindergarten:

    Darla Jordan djordan@ipcisd.net

    Heather Bohannon hbohannon@ipcisd.net

    Aide:   Cindy Billingsley cbillingsley@ipcisd.net
     
    Aide:   Michelle Jetton  mjetton@ipcisd.net

    Early Childhood:

    Teacher : Connie Bennett cbennett@ipcisd.net

    Aide:   Kristina Whitaker kwhitaker@ipcisd.net
     
     

    Music Teacher :  Debbie Rowland drowland@ipcisd.net

    PE Teacher:  Michelle Turner mturner@ipcisd.net

    PE Aide:  Martha Hutchings mhutchings@ipcisd.net

    Library Aide:  Jamie Fulton jfulton@ipcisd.net

    Reading Specialist: Marianne Jensen mjensen@ipcisd.net

    Computer Aide:   Anita McShan amcshan@ipcisd.net

    GT Teacher:   Cynthia Patton cpatton@ipcisd.net 

    Attendance/Retention

    Attendance  - Attendance rules are availabel in the student handbook.

    Retention - A student may be retained in the first or second grade if he/she does not pass in two major academic areas. A passing grade is 70 or above. Academic areas are: Language Arts, Math, Science and Social Studies. Kindergarten retention is based on a joint parent/teacher decision.